Skip to content

Update

March 6, 2010
by

Just so you all know, I haven’t dropped off the face of the earth, but my laptop HAS died, so there will be a continuation of my lack of involvement until I get it mended. Sorry. On the other hand, the others have been doing some fab work, including posting to the blog 🙂 Thanks girls.

We’re also getting noticed by some people, and having lots of suggestions made. One of the questions asked was do we only feature living people? My personal view on this is that we ought to feature 99% living people, because the idea behind the site is to show that women ARE active, not that they WERE. However, perhaps there is an argument to be made for including people like Rosalind Franklin and MAry Shelley (mother of horror AND sci-fi, and often overlooked in favour of men).

Thoughts, people?

2 Comments
  1. March 6, 2010 22:23

    It’s up to you, but I’d go for women through the ages – partly because, say, I’ve been feeling I should get around to writing something on Verity Lambert, but also because surely if women are invisible to people now, they were even more so in the past…?

    • March 8, 2010 12:58

      Delia Darbyshire! I’m not saying that we don’t talk about women through the ages, but I think in terms of the usefulness of the site, women who are active and contactablre now should be a priority. Perhaps women through the ages could be a regular feature on the blog, though. In fact, if you’d like to collaborate with me on a post on the women who made Doctor Who, that would cover Verity AND Delia. And I suppose Jip and Pain ought to get a brief mention…

Comments are closed.

