Skip to content

Hello world!

February 28, 2010
by

Whisper it quietly because the world doesn’t want to hear: women exist. They exist in all sorts of sectors that women are not supposed to exist. The purpose of this site is to document and link to women who work in areas which conventional wisdom would have it they do not: whether that be in writing horror fiction or political analysis or any other field which we are told is male-dominated.

Watch this space to see how many of us there really are…

4 Comments
  1. March 10, 2010 18:18

    This is brilliant and I’ve already plugged on my blog.

    If I ask very very nicely can we have a sports section, please so that women like me who write about things like cars racing round places at very high speed can be found?

    • March 10, 2010 20:46

      I’ve been thinking about that, actually, because rugger and cricket both need some pluggage. BUT we also need a motoring section for Suzi Perry and VBH. Would you put F1 in sport, or motoring? I know there’s some lady motorcycle racers too…

      Also: you want motorsport? Volunteer, and you can code it 😛

  2. March 11, 2010 15:54

    How about a category catering for scientists, mathematicians and the like? Maths in particular is an area in which women are (as far as my own knowledge is concerned) distinctly underrepresented (and the few famous ones I know of are almost unpronounciably Russian). I’d be interested to hear of famous female mathematicians and other scientists who have been instrumental in making discoveries and advances.

    I swear if anyone else suggests ‘Carol Voderman’ to me as being worthy of a place on that list, I will scream, burst and laugh without the tiniest trace of humour all at the same time.

    • March 11, 2010 17:58

      Science is already planned, and I would count Maths as a branch of science myself.

Comments are closed.

